Facebook Claims Even More Rights to Your Uploaded Content

While I use and enjoy using Facebook, I’ve long been very careful about what original content I upload there, especially photos, because Facebook asserts rather broad-ranging rights to use and re-use my content in its Terms of Service.

Well, Facebook just got even more aggressive, revising its Terms of Service to eliminate the clause that allowed you to revoke Facebook’s rights to your content by closing your account. In other words, once you upload something to Facebook, it’s theirs forever.

Bottom line: don’t upload original content of any substance or value to Facebook.  That includes photos, videos, original writing, etc.

UPDATE: Facebook has reversed course.  Clearly due to my righteous indignation.

links for 2009-02-15